The deep-sea is the largest ecosystem on Earth, it harbours high biodiversity and provides a wealth of resources yet, it is also the least explored and understood. Since their first edition in 1977, the international deep-sea symposia have been invaluable forums for exchange of information on the most recent deep-sea explorations and scientific advances. Moreover, the symposia  have also been wellsprings of cooperation and formation of new research groups and projects.

In 2015 it is the turn of Aveiro, Portugal to host the International Deep-Sea Biology Symposium. Previous conferences have been held in Kristineberg, Sweden (1977), La Jolla,  USA (1981), Hamburg, Germany (1985), Brest, France (1988), Copenhagen, Denmark (1991), Heraklion,  Greece (1994), Monterey Bay, USA (1997), Galway, Ireland (2000), Coos Bay,  USA (2003), Southampton, UK (2006), Reykjavík, Iceland (2010) and Wellington, New Zealand (2012). Once again the Symposium will provide the opportunity for members of the international deep-sea science community to discuss and present their latest research results.

The publication of a special volume in "Deep-Sea Research Part II: Topical Studies in Oceanography" is foreseen. Participants of the 14th Deep-Sea Biology Symposium will be invited to submit manuscripts under three themes:

  1. Theme 1. Conservation topics and stewardship (papers on natural and anthropogenic impacts, habitat suitability, conservation and governance);

  2. Theme 2. Biodiversity and ecosystem functioning (papers on biodiversity patterns, species distribution and function of all deep-sea ecosystems);

  3. Theme 3. Life-history traits and population connectivity (papers on reproductive ecology, larval development and dispersal, and population connectivity, including empirical and modelling efforts).

Venue & General infoVenue.htmlVenue.htmlshapeimage_5_link_0

Local organizing committee

Marina Cunha (Univ. Aveiro)

Patricia Esquete (Univ. Aveiro)

Luciana Génio (Univ. Aveiro)

Ana Hilário (Univ. Aveiro)

Ascensão Ravara (Univ. Aveiro)

Clara Rodrigues (Univ. Aveiro)

Ana Colaço (Univ. Açores)

Telmo Morato (Univ. Açores)

Scientific committee

Maria Baker (University of Southampton, UK)

Angelo Bernardino (Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo, Brazil)

Ana Colaço (Universidade dos Açores, Portugal)

Marina Cunha (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)

Luciana Génio (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)

Steve Haddock (Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, USA)

Ana Hilário (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)

Alan Jamieson (University of Aberdeen, UK)

Crispin Little (University of Leeds, UK)

Telmo Morato (Universidade dos Açores, Portugal)

Eva Ramirez-Llodra (Norwegian Institute for Water Research, Norway)

Ashley Rowden (NIWA, New Zealand)

Ricardo Serrão Santos (Universidade dos Açores, Portugal)

Tina Treude (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)

Paul Tyler (University of Southampton, UK)

Ann Vanreusel (Universiteit Gent, Belgium)

Hiromi Watanabe (JAMSTEC, Japan)



Host Institution: University of Aveiro

Where: Cultural and Congress Center of Aveiro, Portugal

When: 31 August - 4 September 2015

Conveners: Marina Cunha

                        Ricardo Serrão Santos

                        Ana Hilário


  1. Complete programme available! This information will be included in the abstract book - please think twice before you print this document!

  2. Planning your presentation: author guidelines are now available.

  3. Best student presentation awards sponsored by “Frontiers”!

  4. Special volume in “Deep-Sea Research II” is foreseen!

  5. Standard registration deadline:

29 May 2015 - 18.00 GMT! (11/05/20015)

  1. Abstract submission is now closed! (30/03/2015)

  2. Extended deadline for abstract submission: 27 March 2015 (18/03/2015)

  3. Abstract submission  and Registration are now open (09/01/2015)